Files from Yesteryear: 1950


From the Files of 1950:

The Democrats captured the local offices on Tuesday. B.F. Fant defeated Hubert E. Mitchell for State Senator, Kenneth J. Griffin outpolled O.N. Murphree for Probate Judge, W.C. (Crant) Waldrop defeated D.B. Hunter for Sheriff. Cullman County favored Lister Hill for United States Senator and Gordon Persons for Governor.

The local chapter of the Alabama Petroleum Industries Committee elected Royce McMeans – Chairman, Cal Leeth – Vice-Chairman and Bert Morgan – Secretary.

Two juveniles were caught, after taking candy and cigarettes from the Drive-In Theatre and attempting to break into the money machine. Police officers Bob Higginbotham, Lester Roden and John Alexander made the arrests, around midnight on Saturday, on a tip from a film delivery man.

Mrs. William R. Griffin was seriously injured and Mr. Griffin slightly injured in a car accident in Louisiana.

Mrs. J.E. Sutterer broke her wrist, when she fell on Saturday.

Ned Weaver, of Berlin has sold his truck to his son, Austin.

Darrell Tubbs and Asa Blalock received defensive honors for the most tackles in the mud against Albertville.

Among those going for military physicals this week are Willy E. Burmester, Robert F. Kress, Roy Charles Shaw and Richard E. Arndt.

Mrs. Arnold King is the Joppa P.T.A. President. Vice-President is Mrs. Cecil Minor and Secretary-Treasurer Mrs. Clyde Hooten.

Mr. and Mrs. C.W. Kelton and children have moved from the Thigpen settlement at Hanceville to Birmingham.


Large crisp head of lettuce at Brothers Store – 10 cents. Ad.


Henry Grady Pinkston was honored on his tenth birthday. Those present included: Jan Davis, Barbara Yost, Donna Yates, Judy Vann, Betty Sanders, Sandra Wagner, Nancy Whitt, Sharon Dahlke, Wrenda Brock, Carole Pinkston, Sandra and Kay Martin, Fagan Thompson, Junior, Billy Whitt, David McCoy, Don Ross Patton, David Thompson, Dale Brock and Perry Tucker.

Mr. and Mrs. Claude R. Edwards, of Hanceville, have a new daughter, Claudean, born on November 3rd.

The Hanceville Bulldogs are undefeated. The team includes: Dickie Garner, Leland Burkart, Stubby Trimble, Jimmy Duren, F.W. Shaver, Byron Whitaker, Benny Talley, Coach Lonie Eitson, Don Harrison Charles Ryan, Eugene Sticher Byron Quick, Billy Morrison, Donald Boyd, Lum Brown, Joe Fine (Manager), Joe Dean, Bob Anderton, Robert Johnson, Billy Johnson, Donald Doggett, Bobby Chappell, Alton Little, Billy Ray Horsely, Victor Voight, Jack Lindsey, James McElroy, Dale Kennemur and Darrell Jordan.

Elbert Reese, of Vinemont, is supplying sweet potatoes to the new dehydrating plant in Cullman.

Copyright 2019 Humble Roots, LLC. All Rights Reserved.