Annual meeting in review for Cullman County Farmers Federation

Alabama Farmers Federation elects leadership During 98th Annual Meeting

Lydia Haynes of Cullman County, right, was elected vice chair of the Alabama Farmers Federation’s State Women’s Leadership Committee during the organization’s 98th annual meeting in Montgomery Dec. 8-9. The 9-member committee works to improve communities across Alabama through farming education and activities. Haynes also represents Region 1, which includes Blount, Cherokee, Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Franklin, Jackson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Morgan and Winston counties. She is pictured with Federation Women’s Leadership Division Director Kim Earwood.
The Cullman County Farmers Federation received the Award of Excellence Dec. 9. during the Alabama Farmers Federation’s 98th annual meeting in Montgomery. To earn the distinction, counties must score at least 80 points out of 100 on the award application, which covers involvement in agricultural programs, governmental affairs, and county Women’s Leadership and Young Farmers committees. Cullman County Farmers Federation President Ben Haynes, right, accepted the award from Alabama Farmers Federation President Jimmy Parnell.

MONTGOMERY, Ala. – Alabama Farmers Federation leaders were elected at the organization’s 98th annual meeting in Montgomery Dec. 9.

Conecuh County’s Steve Dunn, a row crop and cattle farmer, was reelected secretary-treasurer of the state’s largest farm organization.

Calhoun County’s Jon Hegeman was elected Central Area vice president, and Jake Harper of Wilcox County was reelected Southwest Area vice president.

Elections were held during the Federation’s business session where almost 500 voting delegates from all 67 counties chose officers and directors. Officers serve two-year terms.

Dunn, who was elected to his 10th term, serves as Conecuh County Farmers Federation president and formerly served as State Young Farmers Committee chairman.

Hegeman is a first-generation farmer who manages greenhouses in Calhoun and Cherokee counties. He is a former State Young Farmers Committee chairman and was American Farm Bureau Federation Young Farmers & Ranchers chairman in 2015. In 2012, Hegeman and wife Amy were named Alabama’s Outstanding Young Farm Family. The Central Area includes Autauga, Bibb, Calhoun, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Fayette, Greene, Jefferson, Lamar, Pickens, Randolph, Shelby, St. Clair, Talladega, Tuscaloosa and Walker counties. 

Harper, a cattle and timber farmer, also serves as Wilcox County Farmers Federation president. The Southwest Area includes Baldwin, Butler, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Escambia, Hale, Lowndes, Marengo, Mobile, Monroe, Montgomery, Perry, Sumter, Washington and Wilcox counties. Harper served as a district director from 1988-1996 and was first elected vice president in 2003.

Federation board members representing Districts 2, 5, 8 and 11 were elected or reelected to three-year terms.

Morgan County poultry and row crop farmer Mark Byrd was elected to the District 2 seat, which includes Limestone, Madison and Morgan counties.

Tuscaloosa County row crop farmer Joe Anders was reelected District 5 director. He serves Bibb, Fayette, Jefferson, Lamar and Tuscaloosa counties.

Dallas County cattleman Jimmy Holliman was elected director of District 8, which includes Choctaw, Dallas, Greene, Hale, Marengo, Perry, Pickens and Sumter counties.

Baldwin County cattle and row crop farmer Mark Kaiser was elected District 11 director. He represents Baldwin, Clarke, Conecuh, Escambia, Mobile, Monroe and Washington counties.

Elected to one-year, ex-officio terms on the state board were Women’s Leadership Committee Chairman Kathy Gordon of Montgomery County and State Young Farmers Committee Chairman Jonathan Sanders of Coffee County.