Election qualification update


CULLMAN – Here’s an updated list of candidates who’ve qualified to run in the 2018 general election. The Tribune’s previous list included candidates who had not yet qualified, but who were reported as being in the process of qualifying.  The list below contains only those candidates positively known to have completed the process and successfully qualified as of 5 p.m. Friday, Jan. 26.  Candidates have until Feb. 9 to qualify.


Kay Ivey – R, incumbent

Tommy Battle – R

Sue Bell Cobb – D

James Fields – D, from Cullman County

Bill Hightower – R

Michael McAllister – R

Walt Maddox – D


Lt. Governor

Vacated by Kay Ivey upon appointment to post of governor

Twinkle Andress Cavanaugh – R

Rusty Glover – R


Secretary of State

John Merrill – R, incumbent

Lula Albert – D

Heather Milam – D


State Attorney General

Incumbent has not yet qualified

Chess Bedsole – R

Chris Christie – D


U.S. House District 4

Robert Aderholt – R, incumbent

Anthony Blackmon – R


Alabama House District 9

Incumbent not seeking reelection

James Bowling – R

Justin Morrow – R

Scott Stadthagen – R


Alabama House District 11

Randall Shedd – R, incumbent


Alabama House District 12

Corey Harbison – R, incumbent


Alabama Senate District 4

Paul Bussman – R, incumbent


32nd Judicial Circuit (Cullman County) Circuit Judges

Greg Nicholas – R, incumbent

Martha Williams – R, incumbent


Cullman County District Judge

Wells “Rusty” Turner – R, incumbent


Cullman County Probate Judge

Tammy Brown – R, incumbent


Circuit Court Clerk

Lisa McSwain – R, incumbent


Cullman County Commission, eastside Associate Commissioner

Kerry Watson – R, incumbent


Cullman County Commission, westside Associate Commissioner

Garry Marchman – R, incumbent

Andy Coffee – R


Cullman County Sheriff

Matt Gentry – R, incumbent


Cullman County Coroner

Jeremy Kilpatrick – R, incumbent


Cullman County Board of Education, Fairview

Incumbent not seeking reelection

Bill Ballew – R


Cullman County Board of Education, Good Hope

Jason Speegle – R, incumbent

Kerry Neighbors – R


Cullman County Board of Education, Hanceville

Kenny Brockman – R, incumbent


Cullman County Board of Education, Vinemont

Mike Graves – R, incumbent


Ballot measures

As of Jan 26, the only measure on the state ballot for the 2018 election is a State Abortion Policy Amendment, which reads:

“Proposing an amendment to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended; to declare and otherwise affirm that it is the public policy of this state to recognize and support the sanctity of unborn life and the rights of unborn children, most importantly the right to life in all manners and measures appropriate and lawful; and to provide that the constitution of this state does not protect the right to abortion or require the funding of abortion.”

Copyright 2018 Humble Roots, LLC. All Rights Reserved.