McCutcheon announces members of House Driver’s License Review Committee

By: ,
State of Alabama

Photo: Rep. Randall Shedd, R-Fairview

MONTGOMERY – Speaker of the House Mac McCutcheon, R-Monrovia on Thursday announced the members of the House Interim Committee on Driver’s License Review.  The committee was created by HR11 during the recent special session.

“Access to driver’s license offices and reduced wait times at these facilities continue to be a priority for our members,” McCutcheon said. “I’m confident this committee will work diligently and bring forward workable solutions that improve the driver’s license process for the citizens of Alabama.”

Rep. Randall Shedd, R-Fairview, who sponsored the resolution, has been appointed chairman of the interim committee. McCutcheon announced Shedd’s appointment when he spoke in Cullman earlier this month.

“With threats of driver’s license office closures in the not-so-distant past, the work of this committee is imperative to ensure the taxpayers of Alabama are being provided with the basic services they deserve,” Shedd said. “I am honored to lead this committee and promise we will hit the ground running to find the solutions that Alabama deserves.”

The following individuals have also been appointed to the committee:

  • Rep. Louise Alexander, D-Bessemer
  • Rep. Dexter Grimsley, D-Newville
  • Rep. Phillip Pettus, R-Killen
  • Rep. David Standridge, R-Hayden
  • Rep. Margie Wilcox, R-Mobile

As laid out in HR11, the committee is specially tasked with reviewing the process and procedure of issuing a driver’s license in Alabama in order to seek ways to reduce wait times and find methods for making the driver’s license office more accessible to all Alabamians. Additionally, the group will review the necessity of closing certain driver’s license offices.

The committee is required to report its findings and submit suggestions to the House of Representatives no later than the tenth legislative day of the 2017 regular session.

The committee’s first meeting will take place on Tuesday, Oct. 4 at 10 a.m. in Rm. 410 in the Alabama State House.