Hands-free law grace period ends June 15

By:
0
998
(drivesafealabama.org)

CULLMAN, Ala. – The grace period for Alabama’s hands-free driving law, which went into effect in June 2023, will end June 15, according to the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency.

According to drivesafealabama.org:

“As of June 15, 2023, it’s illegal to hold a cell phone or any other electronic device while driving in Alabama. And you can get pulled over. A first offense fine is $50 and a point on your license, a second offense fine is $100 and two points on your license, and a third offense fine is $150 and three points on your license. And more than three offenses can mean the suspension of your driver license.

“A driver can make or receive calls via hands-free devices, including:

  • Speakerphone
  • Earpiece
  • Wireless headset
  • Connecting phone to vehicle

“In most cases, anything more than a single touch or swipe is against the law.”

Cullman Police Chief David Nassetta said the State allowed a one-year grace period to give drivers time to prepare.

“It is a secondary offense, which means that an officer has to see another traffic violation committed before stopping the vehicle,” Nassetta said.

According to the Code Of Alabama section 32-5A-350.1: 

“An individual operates a vehicle in a distracted manner in violation of this section if the individual is observed crossing in and out of a traffic lane without using a turn signal, swerving, or otherwise operating the vehicle in an impaired manner while doing any of the following:

“(1) Physically holding a wireless telecommunications device.

“(2) Physically holding or supporting, with any part of his or her body, a stand-alone electronic device.

“(3) Writing, sending, or reading any text-based communication, including but not limited to a text message, instant message, e-mail, or Internet data on a wireless telecommunications device or stand-alone electronic device.”

Tickets will not be written until after the 14th of June.

Copyright 2024 Humble Roots, LLC. All Rights Reserved.