St. Bernard Prep School celebrates athletes at 2023-24 Fall and Winter Athletic Awards Ceremony

SBP Cross Country Athletes Parker Guthery- 3A. All- State Runner 13th Place, 3A All-Section Runner 5th Place, 3A Section 4 Champions (Team), and 3A State Championship 6th Place (Team); Sean Daly; Madi Kerber – All-Section: 3A Section 4 – 6th Place; Cesar Hernandez- All-Section 2023; Sectional Champions 2021, 2022, 2023 (Team), 2023 3A State Championship 6th Place (Team); and Cash Daly- 3A All-State Runner 9th Place, All Section Runner 3rd Place, 3A Section 4 Champions (Team and 3A State Championship 6th Place Team. Not pictured is Ethan Wu- Sectional Champions 2021 (team); and 2023 3A State Championship 6th Place (Team).

St. Bernard Prep School proudly recognized the exceptional achievements of its student-athletes at the 2023-24 Fall and Winter Athletic Awards Ceremony, held on March 6, 2024, at the esteemed Fazi-Richard Athletic Center. The event celebrated the dedication, perseverance, and remarkable accomplishments of nine sports teams spanning Bowling, JV Volleyball, Varsity Volleyball, Cheerleaders, Middle School Girls Basketball, Varsity Girls Basketball, Middle School Boys Basketball, Varsity Boys Basketball, and Cross Country.

Under the guidance of Coach Elicia Fallin, awards for Bowling and Volleyball were presented, showcasing the remarkable talent and commitment displayed throughout the season. Notable accolades included:

Boys Bowling Awards:

  • Team Captains Charlie Deist and Heitor Joly
  • Highest Individual Score: Cameron Smiley

Girls Bowling Awards:

  • Team Captains: Audrey Gil and Abigail McBride
  • Highest Individual Score: Sarah Woods

JV Volleyball Awards:

  • Best Server: Ella Cron
  • Hustle Award: Charlee Boykin
  • Most Influential Player and Team Captain: Caroline McBride

Varsity Volleyball Awards:

  • Manager: Caroline Sidley
  • Best Under Pressure Award: Sarah Woods
  • Highest Serve Percentage: Elle Tillitski
  • Hustle Award: Ella Davis
  • Team Captain and Senior Award: Amelia Tafazoli
  • Most Outstanding Performance: Abigail McBride
  • Senior Award, Captain, Most Outstanding Performance: Emily Garcia

Notably, Emily Garcia and Abigail McBride received All-Area recognition from the AHSAA coaches for their outstanding contributions to the team.

The Cheerleaders, under the guidance of sponsor Abigail Bennett, were commended for their unwavering dedication and spirited performances throughout the season.

Middle School Girls Basketball saw Avy Hines recognized as the Most Improved Player, while Tessa Sanders was celebrated as the Most Valuable Player.

Varsity Girls Basketball Awards highlighted:

  • Senior Award: Amelia Tafazoli
  • Most Improved: Caroline McBride
  • Most Valuable Player: Ella Davis

Furthermore, Ella Davis and Amelia Tafazoli were selected for the AHSAA All-Area 1A 13 team by the AHSAA Coaches.

Middle School Boys Basketball awards included recognition for Team Captains Aiden Hays and Cameron Smiley, alongside the Hustle Award recipient, James Gray.

Varsity Boys Basketball Awards honored seniors Charles Deist, Will Lyons, and Emmanuel Santiago, with Emmanuel Santiago and Will Lyons recognized as Team Captains. Both Will Lyons and Emmanuel Santiago were named to the AHSAA All-Area 1A 13 team.

In Cross Country, senior athletes Cesar Hernandez and Ethan Wu were celebrated for their outstanding contributions. Additionally, Cash Daly and Parker Guthery received accolades for their exceptional performances, with Madi Kerber shining as the Most Valuable Girls Runner.

St. Bernard Prep School extends its heartfelt congratulations to all award recipients and athletes for their dedication and achievements. The ceremony concluded with refreshments.