Hanceville, Cullman honor Wallace State with proclamations during Community College Month

CULLMAN PROCLAMATION Cullman Mayor Woody Jacobs presented a proclamation from the City of Cullman to Wallace State Community College honoring the college during Community College Month. Pictured from left are Wallace State President Dr. Vicki Karolewics, students Preston Key of Hayden, Marlen Leon of Gardendale, Bailey Grant of Hayden, Grant Sikes of West Point, Ethan Wideman of Curry and Monzerrath Mondragon of Locust Fork. (Photos courtesy of WSCC)

HANCEVILLE, Ala. — Hanceville Mayor Kenneth Nail and Cullman Mayor Woody Jacobs both signed proclamations this week recognizing Wallace State Community College during Community College Month.  

Wallace State President Dr. Vicki Karolewics thanked the mayors for their support and this recognition.  She introduced the students, who represent the Wallace State SGA, Ambassadors and other campus organizations.  

“We have an outstanding relationship with Wallace State, and we’re proud of what the college represents for our city, county and the state,” said Hanceville Mayor Kenneth Nail. “The City of Hanceville does its best to promote Wallace State, because what’s good for Wallace State is good for Hanceville.” 

Mayor Jacobs told the students in attendance how much the city appreciates its relationship with the college and the impact it has had on the city in regard to building its workforce and attracting business and industry to the area, as well as being a wonderful resource for students in the area.  

Wallace State has been celebrating Community College Month with various events this month and by highlighting the stories of alumni. For more information, visit www.wscccalumni.org/ccmonth21. 

Hanceville Mayor Kenneth Nail, seated, signs a proclamation honoring Wallace State Community College during Community College Month. On hand for the signing were Wallace State students Chandler Ogles, standing at left, of Warrior, Karina Faulkner of Holly Pond, and Wallace State President Dr. Vicki Karolewics.