Brontae Harris Named to Paycom Jim Thorpe Award Watch List

UAB cornerback Brontae Harris was named to this year’s Jim Thorpe Award Preseason Watch List. (UAB Athletics)

BIRMINGHAM – Junior cornerback Brontae Harris has been named to the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award Preseason Watch List, which is presented annually to the nation’s best defensive back by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame.

Harris was rated Conference USA’s top cornerback in 2018 and will again be one of the best defensive players in the league this season.

The Cullman, Ala. product helped contribute to UAB’s record-setting defense which finished ninth nationally in total defense last year. The Blazers ranked top 10 nationally in six different statistical categories, and the secondary finished 14th overall in passing yards allowed.

Harris played in 12 games and was limited midway through the season due to a mild injury. He was still able to lead UAB in interceptions and pass breakups en route to All-Conference USA Honorable Mention accolades. He finished the year with 34 total tackles, two picks and 11 PBUs, and saw his targets decrease down the stretch of the season as teams stopped throwing his way.

Harris is one of 46 players on the preseason watch list and one of five players from Conference USA, along with Reed Blankenship (MT), Ky’el Hemby (USM), Chris Jackson (Marshall) and Amik Robertson (LT).

Coming off a year in which the Blazers finished 11-3 overall and won the program’s first Conference USA title, UAB is 38 days away from kicking off the 2019 season. The Blazers welcome Alabama State on Thursday, Aug. 29, at Legion Field to open their title defense.

Season tickets are on sale now and can be purchased by clicking here or by calling the UAB Athletics Ticket Office at 205-975-UAB1. Fans can also request more information on ticket options for the upcoming season here. Discounted group tickets and fan experiences are available for a minimum purchase of 20 tickets to any home football game. To purchase group tickets for the 2019 season, please contact Chris Curtis at (205) 934-3172 or 

2019 Paycom Jim Thorpe Award Watch List:

Paulson Adebo, Stanford, So.
Trajan Bandy, Miami (FL), Jr.
Essang Bassey, Wake Forest, Sr.
Julian Blackmon, Utah, Sr.
Reed Blankenship, Middle Tennessee, Jr.
Monquavion Brinson, Georgia Southern, Sr.
Jaron Bryant, Fresno State, Sr.
Myles Bryant, Washington, Sr.
Vince Calhoun, Eastern Michigan, Sr.
TJ Carter, Memphis, Jr.
Andre Cisco, Syracuse, So.
Cameron Dantzler, Mississippi State, Jr.
Alvin Davis Jr., Akron, Sr.
Grant Delpit, LSU, Jr.
Greg Eisworth, Iowa State, Jr.
Desmond Franklin, Appalachian State, Sr.
Jordan Fuller, Ohio State, Sr.
Alohi Gilman, Notre Dame, Sr.
Jeff Gladney, TCU, Sr.
Richie Grant, UCF, Jr.
AJ Green, Oklahoma State, Sr.
Javon Hagan, Ohio, Sr.
Bryce Hall, Virginia, Sr.
Mike Hampton, USF, Jr.
Brontae Harris, UAB, Jr.
Ky’el Hemby, Southern Mississippi, Jr.
CJ Henderson, Florida, Jr.
Lavert Hill, Michigan, Sr.
Jamal Hudson, Ohio, Jr.
Juju Hughes, Fresno State, Sr.
Chris Jackson, Marshall, Sr.
Darreon Jackson, Arkansas State, Sr.
Jerry Jacobs, Arkansas State, Jr.
Jaylon Johnson, Utah, Jr.
Kevin McGill, Eastern Michigan, Sr.
Xavier McKinney, Alabama, Jr.
Josh Metellus, Michigan, Sr.
JR Reed, Georgia, Sr.
Amik Robertson, Louisiana Tech, Jr.
Josiah Scott, Michigan State, Jr.
Caden Sterns, Texas, So.
Josh Thomas, Appalachian State, Sr.
Tariq Thompson, San Diego State, Jr.
Kindle Vildor, Georgia Southern, Sr.
James Wiggins, Cincinnati, Jr.
DJ Williams, Utah State, Sr.