CCBOE recognizes students, faculty; personnel changes


West Point Intermediate School’s Sonia Eady, left, pictured with Superintendent Dr. Shane Barnette, received a CCBOE e5 Exceptional Service Award. (W.C. Mann for The Cullman Tribune)

CULLMAN, Ala. – On Thursday evening, the Cullman County Board of Education (CCBOE) opened its meeting with recognitions of high-performing students and faculty.  Due to the bad weather, most honorees were not present, but the list of those to be recognized included:

  • West Point Middle School Hoop Shoot Winner, seventh grader Hallie Wheeler, who won County, District and State and will be competing in Regionals
  • CCBOE e5 Exceptional Service Award honorees:
    • Kerrie McCluskey – Child Development Center
    • Sonia Eady – West Point Intermediate
    • Ted Nesmith – Vinemont High
    • Sara Phelps – Good Hope Elementary
    • Chelsie Alldredge – Holly Pond High
  • CCBOE/Tony Serra Nissan/Cullman Tribune Elementary Teacher of the Month – Michelle Pender, Hanceville Elementary
  • CCBOE/Tony Serra Nissan/Cullman Tribune Secondary Teacher of the Month – April Hays, Holly Pond High
  • CCBOE/Tony Serra Nissan/Cullman Tribune Principal of the Month – Chris Chambers, Child Development Center

Personnel considerations


  • Wanda Hyatt Quick, Central Office Secondary Curriculum Administrative Assistant
  • Cynthia Elaine Thomas, Good Hope Primary Custodian
  • Tony L. Johnson, Hanceville Elementary Contract Principal
  • Matthew R. Waldrep, Hanceville Elementary fifth-grade Teacher

Voluntary Transfer

  • Emily Blankenship, from Central Office Assistant CNP Director to Central Office CNP Director to replace Ed Roberson


  • Cristin Adriana Smith, Good Hope Elementary Intervention Teacher
  • Tony L. Johnson, Short-Term Alternative School Coordinator

Non-faculty coaches

  • Rusty Brent Yancy, Fairview High Softball (Volunteer)
  • Dave Alan Doss, Good Hope High Baseball (Volunteer)
  • Jackson Andrew Jenkins, Good Hope Middle Football (Volunteer)
  • William Cody Weaver, Good Hope Middle Football (Volunteer)
  • Brocton Crashad Malcom, Hanceville High Track – Boys
  • Amy Michelle Bell, Holly Pond High Softball
  • David Charles Friedrich, Vinemont Middle Archery


  • Destry Scott, Stone Bus Driver
  • Madison Danielle Ballard, Teacher
  • Justin Daniel Clayton Hodges, Teacher
  • Dorothy Ann Conley, Teacher
  • Colton McHan Costa, Teacher
  • Savanna Layne Davis, Teacher
  • Erin Ashley Frederick, Teacher
  • Marsha Boss Hawthorne, Teacher
  • Justin Lee Keaton, Teacher
  • Jesse William Lee, Teacher
  • Emily Lashay Long, Teacher
  • Elizabeth Brooke Maddox, Teacher
  • Whitney Kaye McAnnally, Teacher
  • Griffin Michael Morris, Teacher
  • Bonnie Renee Paulin, Teacher
  • Toni Melisa Payne, Teacher
  • Cassidy Maddox Peek, Teacher
  • Chrystal Denay Ray, Teacher
  • Kaitlyn Brook Speegle, Teacher
  • Erika Suarez, Teacher
  • Layla Brooke Wasilewski, Teacher
  • Daphney Louise Weaver, Teacher
  • Brittney Mackenzie Widner, Teacher
  • Michele Marie Duke, Teacher/Office/Custodian

Contract/Salary Changes

  • Braxton Pitts, add Track-boys, Hanceville High
  • Broc Malcom, add Track-girls, Hanceville High
  • Amy Michelle Bell, add Sr. High Softball Assistant coach, Holly Pond High
  • James Brown, add Jr. Var. Girls Basketball coach, Vinemont High

The board approved the following requests:

  • from Hanceville Middle School to pay Kim Kanaday for tutoring up to 228 hours this semester, paid $25 an hour from Title I funds
  • from Vinemont Elementary School to add Audrey Strickland and Jennifer Quick as  substitutes to its after-school program, paid at $20 an hour from local school funds
  • from Welti Elementary School, paid by Dependent Care Grant/Local School Funds,
    • Permission to host a before-school program on Monday-Friday, 6:30-7:30 a.m.-cost $10 a week; Teachers: Samantha Hunter-$22 an hour, Before School Care Director Jennifer Hays-$20 an hour
    • Permission to increase after-school program salaries: Krystal Ayers-$22 an hour, After School Care Director Charlotte Reid, Jennifer Hays, Katara Davidson, Stefanie Bagwell and Jan Sexton -$20 an hour
  • to pay Wanda Quick $900 for additional work on A+, paid by A+ College Ready

The next meeting of the CCBOE will be Thursday, April 11, 2019 at 6 p.m. in the Central Office Board Room, with work session at 5:30.  The public is invited to attend.

Copyright 2019 Humble Roots, LLC. All Rights Reserved.