Students compete in 2023 FCCLA County Sweet Potato Cook-Off

Pictured (left to right) are bread winners Abigail Whitehead, Jana Woods, Abigail Tankersley and Makenna Howard. (Stephanie Blair)

CULLMAN, Ala. – On Tuesday, Nov. 7, 2023, various county school students met at the Alabama Farm Credit headquarters in Cullman for the FCCLA County Sweet Potato Cook-off. The event was sponsored by the Cullman Sweet Potato Growers Association, Cullman Farm-City, Pat Floyd, Doris Patterson and Alabama Farm Credit. Students competed in four categories: casseroles, bread, pies and desserts.

Sweet potato casserole winners

  • First place: Sierra Cranford from West Point
  • Second place: Zoe Marks from Good Hope
  • Third place: Lauryn Hoffman from Holly Pond
  • Fourth place: Emma Hydrick from the Cullman Area Technology Academy (CATA)

Sweet potato bread winners

  • First place: Abigail Whitehead from Holly Pond
  • Second place: Jana Woods from CATA
  • Third place: Abigail Tankersley from Vinemont
  • Fourth place: McKenna Howard from Vinemont

Sweet potato dessert winners

  • Frist place: Katelyn Evans from Vinemont
  • Second place: Chamaria Arrington from Hanceville
  • Third place: Miaonna Ward from Hanceville
  • Fourth place: Savannah Bischoff from Cold Springs

Sweet potato pie winners

  • First place: Aleana Brantley from Good Hope
  • Second place: Natalie Taylor from CATA
  • Third place: Taylor Tolbert from West Point
  • Fourth place: Aidan Helms from West Point

The sponsors and schools that participated were Stephanie Blair from Cold Springs High School, Amie Veal from CATA, Brittany Freeman from Fairview High School, Amanda Williams from Good Hope High School, Amy Chambers from Hanceville High School, Amelia Burke from Holly Pond High School, Renee Lee from West Point High School and Madison Bullard from Vinemont High School.

Pictured (left to right) are casserole winners Sierra Cranford, Zoe Marks, Lauryn Hoffman and Emma Hydrick. (Stephanie Blair)
Pictured (left to right) are dessert winners Katelyn Evans, Chamaria Arrington, Miaonna Ward and Savannah Bischoff. (Stephanie Blair)
Pictured (left to right) are pie winners Aleana Brantley, Natalie Taylor, Taylor Tolbert and Aidan Helms. (Stephanie Blair)