Auburn legends named to 2024 College Football Hall of Fame ballot

(AU Athletics)

AUBURN, Ala. – Former Auburn football standouts Takeo Spikes, Ed King and Gregg Carr are on the 2024 College Football Hall of Fame ballot, the National Football Foundation announced Monday.

The 2024 College Football Hall of Fame class will be announced in January 2024. The formal induction will take place Dec. 10, 2024, in Las Vegas during the 66th NFF Awards Dinner. The ballot features 78 players and nine coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision.

Spikes, a 1997 First Team All-American and two-time First Team All-SEC selection, helped lead the Tigers to the 1997 SEC Championship Game, a victory in the 1998 Peach Bowl, in which he was named MVP, and a No. 11 final ranking. A two-time Auburn defensive most valuable player, Spikes’ 331 career tackles ranks in the top 10 in program history.

King, a two-time First Team All-American and unanimous selection in 1990, helped Auburn win back-to-back SEC titles in 1988 and 1989 when the Tigers posted consecutive 10-win seasons for the first time in program history.  The guard twice earned First Team All-SEC honors.

A 1984 consensus First Team All-American and NFF National Scholar-Athlete, Carr earned All-SEC honors three times and was the SEC Lineman of the Year in 1984. He twice led Auburn in tackles and helped the Tigers win the 1983 SEC championship and earn three consecutive bowl victories.

Two former Auburn coaches are also on the 2024 subdivision coach ballot.

Larry Blakeney, a two-sport Auburn student-athlete in the 1960s and an assistant coach under Pat Dye in the 1980s, served as Troy’s head coach from 1991-2014. The all-time winningest coach in Sun Belt Conference history, Blakeney was a four-time conference coach of the year and led the Trojans to eight conference championships and seven FCS playoff appearances in eight seasons. He led the Trojans to four bowl games, including New Orleans Bowl wins in 2006 and 2010.

Tommy Tuberville was Auburn’s head coach from 1999-2008, leading the Tigers to an undefeated season and SEC championship in 2004, when he won National Coach of the Year honors. Tuberville led the Tigers to four division crowns and two SEC Championship Game appearances. Including his SEC wins at Ole Miss from 1995-1998, Tuberville ranks 10th in conference history with 64 regular-season victories.