Ainsworth appoints Gudger to ATRIP-II Committee to oversee road and bridge projects

Sen. Garlan Gudger, R-Cullman is seen here with supporters in Cullman on June 5, 2018. (Cullman Tribune file photo)

MONTGOMERY, Ala. – Lieutenant Governor Will Ainsworth has appointed Sen. Garlan Gudger, R-Cullman to the Alabama Transportation Rehabilitation and Improvement Program (ATRIP-II) Committee, the team tasked with overseeing local infrastructure projects that are funded by the ATRIP-II, which is a specific part of the Rebuild Alabama infrastructure plan the Legislature approved last month.

The new transportation program follows the 2013 Alabama Transportation Rehabilitation and Improvement Program.

“We need to ensure that Alabama’s rural regions have the same voice as those in our urban areas in discussions on road and bridge funding,” Gudger said. “I’m honored to have been appointed to the committee, and I look forward to serving the state and representing the interests of Cullman, Lawrence, Marion and Winston counties.”

The Rebuild Alabama plan, which established the ATRIP-II program and its oversight committee, will provide over $300 million annual funding for infrastructure projects across the state. The committee that Gudger serves on will oversee some $30 million annually that goes through ATRIP-II.

Lt. Governor Ainsworth commended Gudger for his work ethic and leadership in the State Senate.

“Already, Garlan Gudger has been an effective advocate for his constituents during his time in the State Senate,” Ainsworth said. “He is a careful thinker, and a hard worker, and when Senator Gudger speaks at the Statehouse, people listen. ATRIP-II is a vital piece of the Rebuild Alabama infrastructure plan — and Senator Gudger’s leadership and work ethic will be a valuable asset as we move Alabama forward.”

Gudger is one of only three state senators chosen to serve on the ATRIP-II committee. Members of the committee include Senators Arthur Orr and Chris Elliott; Alabama Department of Transportation Director John Cooper serves as chair of the committee.