Wallace State’s English, math honor societies induct new members

By: ,

Sigma Theta Kappa Spring 2018 inductees

HANCEVILLE – The Wallace State chapters of Mu Alpha Theta and Sigma Kappa Delta recognized new members during a March 1 Induction Ceremony in the Bailey Center Auditorium.

Mu Alpha Theta is the mathematics honor society for community colleges. The organization provides members with various avenues to showcase their mathematical knowledge and talents, while providing opportunities to learn from and interact with members across the United States. The Mu Alpha Theta insignia represents an important relationship in mathematics that combines the mystery, the challenge, and the beauty of numbers with a simple geometric figure, the right triangle. Instructors Dr. Krystal Davis and Dana Adams are chapter sponsors.

MAT officers are: Austin Richard, Parliamentarian; Norma De Aguinaga, Secretary and Treasurer; Paul Knetter, Vice President; and Hannah Morton, President.

Mu Alpha Theta inductees included: Carli Ashley, Jenny Barber, Lacie Bartlett, Jacob Dutton, Malia Howell, Casie Humphrey, Emily Dia, Jessica Molina, Nancy Nevarez, Kaitlin Richards, Keith Richard, Cierra Smith, Elizabeth Smith, Daniel Vann, Esmeralda Vasquez and BreAnna Williams.

Sigma Kappa Delta is the National English Honor Society for two-year colleges. Sigma Kappa Delta provides the exceptional student with a variety of opportunities for advancing the study of language and literature, for developing skills in creative and analytical writing, for meeting other outstanding scholars and professionals in the discipline of English, and for obtaining scholarships. Instructors Sally Warren, Gayle Ledbetter, Karen Morris, Haley Nix, Cynthia Smith, and Allison Robertson serve as the advisors for Sigma Kappa Delta.

Sigma Kappa Delta’s newly elected officers are Alaysia Nicholson and Ashton Beasley, Historians; Bridgette Gray, Secretary; Paul Knetter, Treasurer; Emily Dia, Vice President; and Patrick Jimenez, President.

SKD candidates were asked to stand and repeat the following pledge and motto of the society:  “I shall endeavor to advance the study of the English language and its literature, to encourage worthwhile reading, to promote the mastery of written expression, and to foster a spirit of fellowship among those who specialize in the study of the English language and its literature, ever keeping in mind the motto of our Society: Sincerity, Knowledge, Design.”

Sigma Kappa Delta inductees included: Katelyn Anderson, Destiny Baldwin, Jennifer Barber, Lacie Bartlett, Joel Bastrom, Audra Beard. Ashton Beasley, Ashley Bishop, Toby Blackwood, Logan Burgess, Mckenna Chambers, Karalise Cook, Lauren Creel, Anamarie Dahlke, Emily Dia, Rachel Diaz, Amber Doherty, Ethan Drake, Jordan Dunaway, Skye Dutton, Hannah Gardner, Blake Golden, Mary Lauren Granade, Makenzie Graves, Bridgette Gray, Kacie Griffith, Cassie Hall, Cheyenne Hansen, Racheal Harris, Anna Hathcock, Hollie Henderson, Lori Holman, Melinda Hosch, Bernadette Howell, Catherine Howell, Tina Howell, Cannon Hudson, Robert Huff, Jason Hyatt, Kassi Ingram, Drakken James, Karlie Jenkins, Christopher Jennings, Patrick Jimenez, Challie Johnson, Megan Jordan, Lauren Keplinger, Paul Knetter, Cassie Lawrence, Gabrielle Leak, Savannah Lemmons, Abigail Long, Cesar Macias, Anna Main, Rebecca McConnaughhay, Savannah McCormick, Aaron Mejia, Leandra Mendoza, Angel Mernatti, Alec Miller, Zoe Moon, Cassie Morgan, Faith Morris, Nancy Nevarez-Medina, Alaysia Nicholson, Brittany Noe, Julianna Ogle, Sierra Palmer, Erin Pankey, Katherine Pea, Tucker Putman, Kiefer Quick, Cameron Reed, Cheryl Reese, Kaitlin Richards, Tanner Robertson, Mason Rowe, Karson Scott, Meagan Schwieterman, Marlen Serrano, Bryant Simmons, Anna Marie Smith, Cierra Smith, Reagan Smothers, Hannah Sumner, Kari Thomas, Cassie Torres, Taylor Urecn, Victoria Vinson, Kaitlyn Wadsworth, James West, Kathy Williams, Emily Wilson, Teresa Worden, Aaliyah Wyatt and Rheagan Wyche.