Cullman Co. Mayors and Commissioners Association selects new officers, public service award recipient


Incoming CCMCA officers, from left, Vice President Donnis Leeth of Colony and President Bill Oliver of Holly Pond / W.C. Mann

CULLMAN – At its last meeting of 2017, the Cullman County Mayors and Commissioners Association (CCMCA) elected new officers, and selected a recipient for the Lucille Galin Public Service Award.


The CCMCA had previously chosen a new president, and presented Holly Pond Mayor Bill Oliver as its selection for that post.

Oliver joked with the audience, “I’ll do what I can, but I’ll just tell you: I’ve kind of spent the year as a mayor not really knowing what I’m doing or what I’m supposed to do, and I can’t tell you what I’ve done!”

Mayor Kenneth Nail of Hanceville nominated Mayor Donnis Leeth of Colony to serve as vice president, with no other nominations. 

In accepting the position by acclamation, Leeth told the assembled crowd, “I want to thank y’all, and I want to give God the honor for this happening.  This is a privilege this happened this day.  God has plans for people.  When all of y’all was together loving God like I love God, God makes things happen. 

“When I retired from the military, I thought that was a great honor, from 21 years of military (service).  But this day here has went over the mountain top.  I thank y’all.  I love y’all.  This means so much to me.”

Mayor Kenneth Kilgo of West Point was re-elected as treasurer with no opposition.  Nail made the nomination, saying, “He’s got the books, he knows how it works, he’s done a good job.”

Lucille Galin Public Service Award

Cullman County Economic Development Director Cherrie Haney was named the winner of the Lucille Galin Public Service Award.  The award is presented annually to citizens who make significant contributions to the community, and are not elected officials. 

Jennifer Taylor, the constituent services director in the Cullman office of Republican U.S. Rep. Robert Aderholt was also nominated for the award, by Cullman County Commission Chairman Kenneth Walker.  After the vote, Nail suggested, “Next year, I’d like to see her be put on top of the list.”

The Cullman Area Chamber of Commerce will present the award to Haney in March 2018.

Copyright 2017 Humble Roots, LLC. All Rights Reserved.