4 Wallace State athletic programs named ACCC Academic Teams of the Year

(WSCC Athletics)

HANCEVILLE, Ala. – Wallace State Community College athletics had four programs named Alabama Community College Conference (ACCC) Academic Teams of the Year for the 2019-2020 academic year in a list released by the league on Thursday.

Additionally, Wallace State athletics had 100 individuals named to the Spring 2020 Commissioner’s Academic Honor Roll. Each student on the list maintained a GPA of 3.00 or higher to earn recognition.

Wallace State’s men’s and women’s cross country teams and the softball and volleyball teams were each named ACCC Academic Teams of the Year, registering the top GPA in their respective sports among conference counterparts.

Wallace State’s women’s cross country compiled a school-best 3.75 GPA followed by softball with a 3.63 GPA, volleyball with a 3.54 GPA and men’s cross country with a 3.28 GPA.

Wallace State’s cross country teams are coached by Stan Narewski. A.J. Daugherty is the softball coach and Randy Daniel the volleyball coach.

The college’s baseball and men’s golf programs also received recognition on the list. Baseball put together a 3.16 GPA and men’s golf a 3.10.

Wallace State athletes to earn a spot on the Commissioner’s Academic Honor Roll are as follows:

Women’s Cross Country: Logan Ayers, Juliana Ballew, Maggie Graham, Alexandra Holt, Hannah Huntley, Tatiana Padgett, Breanna Smith, Ashleigh White, Bailey Wick and Makala Worrell;

Softball: Madisen Adams, Macy Anderson, Olivia Ball, Abigail Beach, Brantly Bonds, Lily Calvert, Kalli Cartee, Erin Chambliss, Raven Clark, Haley Folds, Andrea Harbin, Emma Hyche, Lauren McCoy, Jordan McMeans, Riley McWaters, Chaney Phillips, Lauren Quigley, Addie Robinson, Callie Ryan, Madison Sanders, Josie Thompson, Kaitlyn Williams and Katie Wood;

Volleyball: Kaden Edenfield, Karlee Hale, Mattrice Harris, Jordan Hollis, Kate Kent, Courtney Patterson, Harlee Kate Reid, Anna Renshaw, Lauren Seibert, Kayla Thomas and Tori Walker;

Men’s Cross Country: Hamza Abusammour, Josh Jenkins, Tanner King, Taylor Nails, Drake Patton and Trentan Williams;

Baseball: Cooper Beck, Britt Bowling, Connor Burks, Breydon Edmondson, Zac Elliott, Sterling Evilsizer, Nathan Giles, Hunter Goodwin, Dalton Hall, Ty Hill, Bradley Hulin, Juston Jordan, Preston Key, Derek Marrufo, Caleb Marsh, Brennan McCullough, David Rutledge, Drew Talley, Cal Taylor, Garrett Warden, Jarren Wright, Houston Wright and Colton Yeager;

Men’s Golf: Allen Michael Burnett, Joshua Darracott, Parker Davis, Alex Flint, Carter Goodwin and Patrick Minor;

Women’s Basketball: Jamique Barclay, Makyia Broughton, Jasmine Baker, Olivia Howard, Savannah McConnell, Emery McGill, Kyra Williams and Jiselle Woodson;

Women’s Golf: Danielle Boumpastore, Lauren Cole, Abby Grimes, Carly Havens and Savannah Hughes;

Women’s Tennis: Crissy Cruz, Haley Putman and Breanna Vann;

Men’s Tennis: Sebastian Arce, Zach Mastin, Hudson Thompson;

Men’s Basketball: Akil Covington and Kuran Garner;

For the complete ACCC list, visit https://acccathletics.com/general/2019-20/releases/20200617o64239

For more information about Wallace State athletics, visit www.athletics.wallacestate.edu or the athletics Facebook page at www.wallacestate.edu/athleticsfb.