Holly Pond claims County Basketball Title for first time since 2002

Holly Pond claims County Basketball Title for first time since 2002.jpg

HANCEVILLE – In the highest scoring Cullman County championship game ever played at Wallace State's Tom Drake Coliseum, the Holly Pond Broncos took home the hardware for the first time in 13 years.

With four starters shooting lights out and the offense getting 48 points in the final 16:00, the Broncos avenged a loss in the 2014 championship game to Cold Springs Saturday night, outscoring the Eagles 86-75.

This matched up the No. 1 ranked team in Class 3A vs. the No. 1 atop the 2A rankings in front of a huge crowd.

After both teams battled to a 38-38 tie in the first half, the Broncos went to work in the third period, getting a 27-12 advantage on the scoreboard and leading 65-50.

Bailey Smith did his damage in the second half from the free throw line with 10 of 12 and ended the title game scoring 26 points.

Drew Jones contributed 22 to the total while his brother Cody accounted for 17, all in the second half. Austin Smith was solid as well for the Broncos, producing 16 points on five of nine shooting and six of eight from the line.

Holly Pond was 26 of 33 from the line, staying hot with 80 percent accuracy in the second half (16-20). The Broncos are now 24-3 on the season.

Triston Chambers ripped the Coliseum basket for 33 points and was 15 of 18 from the line. Josh Freeman scored 19 and Cayde Elliott tossed in 15.

The Eagles had a good night shooting from the line too, 25 of 29 for 86 percent, making 18 of 21 in the second half.

But the Eagles were just one of nine from three-point land in the second half and just six of 20 for the evening. They slipped to 21-5 overall.

All-Tournament team:

Holly Pond: Austin Smith, Bailey Smith, Drew Jones, Cody Jones.

Cold Springs: Triston Chambers, Josh Freeman.

West Point: Ryder Jones, Will Wrenn.

Vinemont: Tyler Tucker, Lance Stanley.

Joe Shults Award winner: Ryder Jones of West Point.

Eli Thomas Memorial Scholarship winner: Tyler Vanderburg of Good Hope