9 local schools earn 2020-21 AHSAA Sportsmanship Award

9 local schools earned AHSAA Sportsmanship Awards for the 2020-21 school year. (AHSAA)

MONTGOMERY, Ala. – This year’s AHSAA Sportsmanship Schools were recognized at the 14th annual AHSAA Sportsmanship Luncheon in Montgomery Friday and nine local schools were among this year’s winners. Cullman, West Point, Fairview, Good Hope, Vinemont, Holly Pond, Cold Springs and Meek High Schools as well as Saint Bernard Prep all earned a new sportsmanship banner from the AHSAA. Schools that went the entire year ejection and fine free were recognized as AHSAA Sportsmanship Schools for the 2020-21 school year.

Eight of the schools, one school from each of the AHSAA’s eight school districts, were selected to receive a special $1,000 grant. The grant program has now paid out $96,000 since the inception of the AHSAA Sportsmanship program in 2008.

This year’s school grant recipients were:

District 1: Class 3A Excel High School

District 2: Class 1A Florala High School

District 3: Class 2A Isabella High School

District 4: Class 5A Elmore County High School

District 5: Class 5A Fairfield High School

District 6: Munford High School

District 7: Class 1A Hubbertville High School

District 8: Class 3A Geraldine High School

Local AHSAA Sportsmanship Schools

6A: Cullman High School

5A: Fairview High School, West Point High School

4A: Good Hope High School

3A: Vinemont High School, Holly Pond High School

2A: Cold Springs High School

1A: Meek High School, Saint Bernard Prep

Copyright 2021 Humble Roots, LLC. All Rights Reserved.