Ballots cast, U.S. waits for results

Tuberville unseats Jones in U.S. Senate race; Aderholt re-elected to U.S. House

Republican Tommy Tuberville (right) defeated Democratic U.S. Sen. Doug Jones Tuesday night, while Republican U.S. Rep. Robert Aderholt (left) held off Democratic challenger Rick Neighbors. (Office of Robert Aderholt;Cullman Tribune file photo)

CULLMAN, Ala. – The ballots have been cast, and most of the races decided, but as of press time Tuesday night, an unprecedented number of absentee ballots in several states were still being counted in the U.S. presidential election. Republican President Donald Trump won Alabama with 65% of the vote.

Statewide, Alabamians also delivered victories for incumbent Republican U.S. Rep. Robert Aderholt over Democratic challenger Rick Neighbors and Republican newcomer Tommy Tuberville in his contest with incumbent Democratic U.S. Sen. Doug Jones.

With 63 of 67 counties reporting, former Auburn football coach Tuberville topped Jones, who would have seen his first full term in office, 63% to 37%, according to the Alabama Secretary of State’s live election results.

“Thank you, ALABAMA! We’ve got our United States Senate seat back!” Tuberville tweeted.

In his victory speech, he said, “I’ll be guided by Conservative values and vote for a majority of the people of the state of Alabama.”

“We followed our principles. We’ve been true to our principles,” Jones said in an emotional concession speech, and I believe one day, with the help that we’ve had with the Democratic Party, the changes that we’ve made, we’re going to be proven right on a lot of things, folks, because we are still a work in progress…So for us, tonight, smile. It’s been good. It’s been great. You know it has.”

Tuberville will begin his six-year Senate term Jan. 3, 2021.

Aderholt won handily over Neighbors, garnering 83% of the vote to his opponent’s 17%.

Five of the six proposed statewide amendments passed. As of press time, proposed statewide amendment two had not passed.

Read more about the amendments at

Locally, here’s how Cullman Countians voted:


(D) Joe Biden- 4,454- 10.67%

(R)Donald Trump- 36,804- 88.15%

(I) Jo Jorgensen- 418- 1%

Write-in- 75- .18%


U.S. Senator

(D) Doug Jones- 5,666- 13.61%

(R) Tommy Tuberville- 35,878- 86.17%

Write-in- 93- .22%             


U.S. Representative, 4th Congressional District

(D) Rick Neighbors- 4,342- 10.48%

(R) Robert Aderholt- 37,054- 89.45%

Write-in- 30- .07%


See full statewide results at

See full county results at

Copyright 2020 Humble Roots, LLC. All Rights Reserved.


Wendy Sack