PREP CROSS COUNTRY: Bearcats, Lady Bearcats win crowns at North Alabama Twilight Classic

The Lady Bearcats were winners at Monday night’s North Alabama Twilight Classic thanks in part to a first-place individual finish by Bernarda Tizapa. (Nick Griffin/The Cullman Tribune)

CULLMAN, Ala. – There was cross country action at Cross Creek Golf Course in Cullman Monday night and both the Bearcats and Lady Bearcats outpaced the rain and the other teams in the field to take home titles. Cullman’s Bernarda Tizapa posted a time of 17:49.82 to capture the girls’ individual crown and in the boys’ race, Adam Mangum edged Vinemont’s Ethan Lemons with a time of 15:08.52 to take an individual title and help the ‘Cats win the team championship.

Cullman’s girls edged Randolph by just one point to win their race while the boys pulled away from Randolph by a margin of 46 points. Anna Shirey took home a third-place finish with a time of 19:29.10 and in the boys’ race, Vinemont’s Ethan Lemons placed second after running a 15:09.40 and Cullman’s William Nichols rounded out the top three with a 15:15.55.

Girls’ local individual results:

Cullman (1st place – 32 points)

1st Bernarda Tizapa: 17:49.82

3rd Anna Shirey: 19:29.10

5th Tess Heaton: 19:58.74

9th Joshlyn Hudson: 20:37.51

15th Caitlin Bates: 22:28.13

20th Grace Thompson: 23:12.93


16th Monse Moreno: 22:29.96

22nd Zohie Ballenger: 24:54.25

27th Brianna Lodge: 26:12.48


11th Kendall Harbison: 21:06.63

West Point

18th Kali Marsh: 22:39.47

26th Hannah Shedd: 25:53.39

St. Bernard

21st Kathleen George: 23:37.26

25th Sara Barck: 25:01.00

Boys’ local individual results:

Cullman (1st place – 18 points)

1st Adam Mangum: 15:08.52

3rd William Nichols: 15:15.55

4th Troy Adkison: 15:17.16

6th Nicholas Wood: 15:31.92

8th Harold Sheffield: 16:06.01

15th Charlie Worley: 16:51.61

31st Walker Huddleston: 18:11.52

35th David Hudson: 19:00.64

43rd Braxton Williams: 19:57.16

44th Reid Huddleston: 20:11.74

47th Jonathan Medina: 20:33.73

St Bernard (3rd place – 72 point)

10th Eli Loyd: 16:16.56

12th Joseph Arriaga: 16:31.69

16th Nikolas Borths: 16:53.71

19th David De Jesus: 17:03.97

20th Jiovany Aguilar-Arriaga: 17:07.84

30th Peter Tran: 18:11.30

34th Francisco Tona: 18:59.86

37th Cole Bissot: 19:23.14

46th Daniel Bamberry: 20:24.52

49th Adrian Cortez: 21:24.81

Fairveiw (5th place – 116 points)

7th Peyton Bailey: 15:48.97

24th Alex England: 17:53.34

27th Keegan Hardin: 18:00.53

33rd Will Bailey: 18:55.68

41st Jacob Hankins: 19:37.04

50th Tyler Tankersley: 21:29.73


2nd Ethan Lemons: 15:09.40

21st Will Rhodes: 17:26.42

51st Nathan Callio: 21:39.82

West Point

32nd Pierce Lynn: 18:32.28

40th Gabriel Laney: 19:29.66

52nd Nick Overton: 21:57.64

Copyright 2020 Humble Roots, LLC. All Rights Reserved.