CCBOE names officers, approves bids for Cold Springs cafeteria renovation


CULLMAN – On Thursday evening, the Cullman County Board of Education (CCBOE) elected its officers for the new term, naming Heath Allbright board president and Wayne Myrex  vice president.

The board voted to add the position of accounting manager to the central office, moving previous local school accountant Melissa Holcombe to the post.

Facility improvement expenditures approved

The board also approved bids for two phases of renovation for the Cold Springs High School cafeteria.  A & S Electrical Contractors had both of the approved bids: phase one in the amount of $52,375 and phase two in the amount of $134,971.  Additionally, the board approved Good Hope High School’s proposed $22,950.33 purchase of an infield maintenance machine for use by the baseball and softball teams, with the cost to be divided between the budgets of those two teams over the next five years.

Personnel considerations


  • Brandy Atkins Shadix, Child Development Center Behavior Support Assistant
  • Sylvia S Myers, Cold Springs Vocational School Bus Driver (only vocation route, not as a bus driver)
  • Hannah Clay Buchanan, Good Hope High Child Nutrition Program Worker
  • Jessica C Nolen, Good Hope Middle Career Preparedness Teacher
  • Tara Ann Horton, Holly Pond Child Nutrition Program Worker
  • Lori S Clayton, Vinemont Elementary Fifth Grade Teacher

Leaves of absence

  • Brent Gerald Barnett, Hanceville High Assistant Principal, 10/29/2018 – 11/30/2018,  Military Leave
  • Tami Trucks Starnes, Fairview High Social Studies Teacher, 11/14/2018 – 5/24/2019,  Board Leave/Extension of Leave


  • Melissa L Holcombe, from Central Office Local School Accountant to Central Office Accounting Manager
  • Susan Lynne Hand, from Vinemont Elementary Custodian 9 month (187 days) to Vinemont Elementary Custodian 10 month (207 days)
  • Kristie D Farley, from West Point Middle Sixth Grade History to West Point Intermediate Fourth Grade Math/History to replace Kelley Heatherly
  • Sherry Amanda Guthrie, from Holly Pond Middle Sixth Grade History/Reading Teacher (3 hrs/day) to West Point Middle Sixth Grade Reading to replace Kristie Farley


  • Carla Jean Denning, Child Development Center Behavior Support Assistant, to replace Brandy Shadix
  • Jessica Frye Moore, Cold Springs Elem/High Cold Springs Elementary/High Special Education Teacher, to replace Magan Johnson
  • William C Tindale, Cold Springs High Vocational School Bus Driver (temporary) as needed 10/4/2018- 5/24/2019
  • Matthew Lee Bailey, Cold Springs High Vocational School Bus Driver (temporary) As needed 10/4/2018- 5/24/2019
  • Tiffany Lynn Mathews, Fairview High Temporary Social Science Teacher 11/14/2018 –  5/24/2019
  • Cameron Dyess Baker, Good Hope Primary At-Risk Supper Program Worker (6.25 hours per day)
  • Teresa I Campbell, Hanceville High Custodian to replace Jerry Bice
  • Claude J McDonald, Hanceville High Temporary Secondary Teacher 10/16/18 – 11/16/18 to replace Norma Jeane Dodd (leave)
  • Harvey C Moss, Hanceville High Temporary Assistant Principal 10/30/18 – 11/30/18 to replace Brent Barnett (leave)
  • Summer L Mullet, Hanceville Middle Special Education Teacher to replace Karen Hinkle
  • Christy Strong Collier, Holly Pond Child Nutrition Worker to replace: Tara Horton
  • Carrie Beth Ferrell, Holly Pond Middle Part-Time Sixth Grade Reading Intervention Teacher (1/2 day-3 hours per day) to replace Sherry Guthrie

Non-faculty coaches

  • Anthony S Crider, Cold Springs Elementary Middle School Girls Basketball (Volunteer)
  • Brett Landon Crider, Cold Springs Elementary Middle School Girls Basketball (Volunteer)
  • Retha Sproull Tinney, Hanceville Middle Archery (Volunteer)
  • Amanda Larae Wigley, Hanceville Middle Archery (Volunteer)
  • Philip M Wigley, Hanceville Middle Archery (Volunteer)
  • Mark Allen Bell, Holly Pond High Baseball


  • Bruce H Bentley, Bus Driver
  • Dorothy M Bartlett, Child Nutrition
  • Carrie Elizabeth Burch, Child Nutrition
  • Magen Michelle Clark, Child Nutrition
  • Kimberly Leigh Freeman, Child Nutrition
  • Jillian Dawn Herring, Child Nutrition
  • Chasity Diamond Powell Kimbril, Child Nutrition
  • Candace Witcher Knowles, Child Nutrition
  • Abby Gail Lawrence, Child Nutrition
  • Cassidy Maddox Peek, Child Nutrition
  • Darin L Ransom, Child Nutrition
  • Connie Frances Sloan, Child Nutrition
  • Svetlana Nikolaevna Brown, Custodian
  • Charles Ralph Johnson, Custodian
  • Peggy Coppett Linton, Custodian
  • Diana Lynn King, Nurse
  • Tiffany Paige Brooks, Office
  • Rachael Marie Anderson, Teacher
  • Katherine S Ashley, Teacher
  • Constance Elizabeth Bailey, Teacher
  • Taylor Dannette Edge Bailey, Teacher
  • Anna Elizabeth Barbee, Teacher
  • Dorothy R Bartlett, Teacher
  • Cynthia Faye Barton, Teacher
  • Frankie Lee Basinger, Jr, Teacher
  • Jessica Jayne Bradley, Teacher
  • Haley Russell Briscoe, Teacher
  • Meredith Ann Calvert, Teacher
  • Lauren Nicole Camp, Teacher
  • Cindy Marie Chancellor, Teacher
  • Katie Alana Coleman, Teacher
  • Myra Sue Collett, Teacher
  • Robert Justin Corley, Teacher
  • Kelsey Diane Culpepper, Teacher
  • Elizabeth Brooke Dickerson, Teacher
  • Andie Madeline Elrod, Teacher
  • Magon Nicole Frasier, Teacher
  • Alivia Kristen Gambrill, Teacher
  • Elizabeth Fentress Gilbreath, Teacher
  • Tracy Leigh Guthrie, Teacher
  • Bree Anna Harbison, Teacher
  • Amanda Faith Hayes, Teacher
  • Emily Katherine Hayles, Teacher
  • Summer McKayla Hollis Higgins, Teacher
  • Danielle Marie Holder, Teacher
  • Noah Alexander Holder, Teacher
  • Heather Faith Hunt, Teacher
  • Samantha Brooke Hunter, Teacher
  • Kassandra Lashelle Johnson, Teacher
  • Kelsey Grace Johnson, Teacher
  • Robin Eileen Johnson, Teacher
  • Heather Renee Jones, Teacher
  • Chelsea Marlene Lee, Teacher
  • Lori Ranae Lessley, Teacher
  • Julie Elizabeth Martin, Teacher
  • Sydney Nicole Mathews, Teacher
  • Christina Lynn May, Teacher
  • Jana Suzette McAfee, Teacher
  • Tiffanie Celis McBrayer, Teacher
  • Janet Perkins McDonald, Teacher
  • Christi Hrabal Meadows, Teacher
  • Marla Janne Morris, Teacher
  • Katlyn E Moser, Teacher
  • Cynthia A Reese, Teacher
  • Alvin Lee Reid, Teacher
  • Jamie Michelle Rockwell, Teacher
  • Emily Dean Ryan, Teacher
  • Jesselyn Carranda Shewbart, Teacher
  • William Arnold Shirey II, Teacher
  • Charlotte Schiehl Smith, Teacher
  • Robert Benjamin Smothers, Teacher
  • Retha Sproull Tinney, Teacher
  • Kendall Elizabeth Tragesser, Teacher
  • Amanda Larae Wigley, Teacher
  • Philip M Wigley, Teacher
  • Monica McKenzie Williams, Teacher
  • Olivia Paige Williams, Teacher
  • Carlene Grace Yearwood, Teacher
  • Lacie Cofer Burks, Teacher/CNP

Contract/salary changes

  • Christopher Kyle Chamblee, upgrade to Education Specialist
  • James Rankhorn, upgrade to Master’s
  • Mark Bell, add Sr. High Boys Baseball Coach, Holly Pond High

Superintendent Dr. Shane Barnette commended the system’s bus shop mechanics for having no deficiencies noted in a recent Alabama State Department of Education School Bus Inspection Report.

The CCBOE will hold its next meeting on Tuesday, Dec. 18, 2018 at 6 p.m. at the Central Office board room with work session at 5:30.  The public is invited to attend.

Copyright 2018 Humble Roots, LLC. All Rights Reserved.