Wallace State inducts members into English and math honor societies

Mu Alpha Theta inductees (Wallace State)

HANCEVILLE, Ala. – Wallace State Community College is proud to announce more than 50 students earned invitations to join Sigma Kappa Delta and Mu Alpha Theta honor societies.

Sigma Kappa Delta (SKD) is the National English Honor Society for two-year colleges. Wallace State’s Theta Delta Chapter was established in 2007. SKD provides the exceptional student with a variety of opportunities for advancing the study of language and literature, for developing skills in creative and analytical writing, for meeting other outstanding scholars and professionals in the discipline of English, and for obtaining scholarships.

Students invited to join SKD are required to have a minimum overall GPA of 3.3, have completed one college English course a grade not lower than a B and have completed at least 12 hours of college credit.

Area students inducted into Sigma Kappa Delta include:

Addison: Ross Steele

Birmingham: Mauryann Stembridge

Blountsville: Yahir Ponce

Bremen: Emma Dodd

Cleveland: Luke Ellis, Stone Hudson

Cullman: Morgan Bates, Travis Dunagan, Peyton Hightower, McKenzie M. Jones, Vivian Moody, Camden Phillips, Krislyn Scroggins, Emily Hannah Wilhite, Olivia Claire Williams

Empire: Cynthia Putman

Gardendale: Rose O’Neal

Hanceville: Destiny Hill, Sydney Reese Hughes, Cristina Israel Watson

Helena: Tatum West

Holly Pond: Jorja Stewart

Huntsville: Haddy Sanneh

Jasper: Madison Elizabeth Miles

Joppa: Isabel Horton

Kimberly: Emilee Harrington

Locust Fork: Kaylynn Tawbush

Mount Olive: Max Giovino

Oneonta: Ella Caroline Cleveland, Nayelie Anahie Guzman, Vianney Verdin Maldonado

Pinson: Lauren Elisabeth Hallmark

Remlap: Emily Delgado Duarte

Sylacauga: Savannahlyn Varnado

Trafford: Hallie Alexandria Nabors, Chelsea Page

Warrior: Katelyn Kanute, Lillian Boone

Mu Alpha Theta (MAT) is a mathematics honor society for community colleges. MAT provides members with various avenues to showcase their mathematical knowledge and talents, while providing opportunities to learn from and interact with members across the United States.

To qualify for membership in MAT, students must have completed Math 112 or higher with a GPA of 3.0 in the qualifying math class or classes.

Area students inducted into MAT include:

Athens: Lilly Stanford

Blountsville: Yahir Ponce

Bremen: Emma Dodd, Julia Weathers

Cullman: Joseph Arriaga-Aguilar, Morgan Bates, Logan Caldwell, Reid Huddleston, Camden Phillips, Claire Thompson

Eva: Amanda Harder

Gadsden: Alexis Valentine

Hartselle: Amber Davis, Brennen Jones

Hayden: Tiffany Evans

Horton: Hallie Holmes

Jasper: Madison Miles

Joppa: Isabel Horton

Locust: Fork Kaylynn Tawbush

Oneonta: Nayelie Guzman, Zachary Teal, Vianney Verdin Maldonado

Remlap: Emily Delgado Duarte

Somerville: Emily Hall, Natalie Johnson

Sylacauga: Savannah Lyn Varnado

Trafford: Hallie Nabors

Vinemont: Emma Guthrie

SKD sponsor is English faculty member Karen Morris. MAT sponsors are math faculty members Dr. Krystal Davis and Melissa Arnold. In addition to opportunities to network and engage in scholarship, the organizations annually conduct service, social and other projects.